Joy to MY World

load

This week has been a bit of a struggle for me. Stress coming from lots of places and hormones kicking around everywhere. Near the end of the week I started focusing on joy – but ONLY because it was asked of me. What brings me joy…what is joyful about me…my life…my circumstance?

It seems like an easy thing to do…to look for joy. But in the day to day grind it is often really difficult and time consuming. We rush from one thing to another and don’t breathe properly. We don’t connect enough. We don’t treat ourselves enough. We ask questions, but sometimes don’t really hear the answer.

Because of the hectic schedule we have put ourselves in this summer, I am not eating properly. Because of some added stress elsewhere, I am not feeling confident in areas I normally excel at. I’m going from one moment to another without thinking. And that’s not fair to my family. And it’s not fair to me.

Today my husband picked me up for lunch. This never happens because he works in Mississauga, and I in Burlington, and I never go out for lunch – I’d rather take my hour at the end of the day. But he was off today and we spontaneously decided to get together. He took me to one of my favourite restaurants – and…it was such a beautiful treat. Something so small and it made my day a million times better – joyful.

I get to watch both boys play hockey tonight. More joy.

I get to watch both boys play football tomorrow and there’s no running from one sport to another. Joy.

I get to celebrate my husband, his brother and his father tomorrow…and I don’t have to cook dinner …double the joy!

I get to celebrate my father, my brother and my husband again on Sunday for Father’s Day but also my 5 year old nephew for his birthday. Again don’t have to cook dinner AND there’s cake involved…ha ha…Watching Noah open up his presents with his two best cousins at his side will be more joy than I can handle. Can’t wait.

I know I can’t get away from stress. It’s in the work that I do, it’s in my parenting style, it really is who I am. But I want to remind myself of why I am working so hard, what I am working for…in and outside of my home. Nothing is more important than life’s joys. I don’t want to be so busy, so stressed that I miss the joy. I feel that that is where I have been, missing the joy. I want out of that, I want back in to the beauty of my life. I want to recognize the things that bring me most joy and surround myself with it as much as possible. It won’t be easy because busy lives, stressful schedules and deadlines will take me over but in the end, I hope joy prevails.

everything

See you at the Squat Rack ~

Carm