More Beautiful Than You Think

beautiful.png

 

Although I am always talking about loving yourself – regardless of what you think about your legs, tummy, butt, smile – I am my worst enemy at this sometimes.

Yesterday I was in a staff meeting and our facilitator showed us this video created by Dove –I am pretty sure I have seen it before or, at least parts of it, but it REALLY resonated with me this time.

The Dove Self Esteem Campaign has a mission statement that reads, “We are on a mission to help the next generation of women develop a positive relationship with the way they look, helping them raise their self-esteem and realize their full potential.”

Ugh, I wish ALL of us had that positive relationship with how we look. I really wish, despite all I do, and all I believe, that I did for myself. I am getting better at this relationship and if YOU are a woman who does have that relationship with her body already – Hallelujah! Totally Amazing!

Watching this video yesterday hit home for me for some reason. It was really disheartening to hear the women describe themselves in certain words, with specific, unflattering descriptions of what they looked like – because I could hear myself saying some of the same things.

What do I often say? The struggle is real. People think that I don’t have my own body, self-esteem struggle. But I do. Sometimes I don’t see what people see. And sometimes… you don’t either.

Let’s open up our eyes to our own beauty. Let’s turn every criticism about ourselves to a compliment. We can do it.

Watch the video. Let me know what you think of it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpaOjMXyJGk

See you at the Squat Rack ~

Carm