**VACATION ALERT** Call somebody else…

vacation meme

Last week my family and I took a road trip to Myrtle Beach. It’s the first time we have ever driven that far. I wasn’t sure how we would fare out in this 14-hour drive – even split over two days. But we survived!

I was looking really forward to doing absolutely nothing on this vacation. Like most families these days, I was feeling overwhelmed with the busyness of our lives. Work was stressful – just the nature of the job, my body was tired (my own fault of pushing every workout to a max and little rest in between), my mind was crowded with a tight schedule of kids activities, dinner preps, lunch preps, cleaning house, laundry…and finding laughter in between all of that. For about 7 weeks, the kids’ activities had us out from Mon-Sat…and in fact Monday nights we fit 3 activities in AFTER my workday. I don’t want to complain because the kids love their sports and we love watching them play. But we were tired.

Myrtle Beach was great for John and I. Sitting out on our balcony that faced the ocean, sitting in silence – no rush to get anywhere, no schedules to coordinate, no work deadlines blocking our minds.

IMG_0580.JPG

We sat on the beach together and brainstormed life ideas. No kids interrupting. John spent time in the ocean – either with kids or without – and became replenished.

I read a whole book and started another! I made great notes about my blog, my boot camp classes and my upcoming 6-week challenge. I felt invigorated and inspired. I even started a grateful journal and encouraged Jacob to join in me with this. I want to continue to start my days with this activity and change my mindset first thing in the morning and start the day with a positive attitude instead of my anxious, worrywart perspective.

The kids jumped in and out of the pools, rode the lazy river, went down water slides and even conquered a fear.

On this vacation, I didn’t watch my meals as I usually do. I didn’t make every meal an unhealthy one, but I did snack on things I usually don’t eat. I didn’t drink enough water and I didn’t workout until the last couple of days of our vacation and even then, I knew it wasn’t at 100%. I won’t lie and say it didn’t bog my mind because it did, but I didn’t do anything to really fix it, either.

As usual, eating like this caused some pretty big digestive problems for me. I should not have been surprised. To be honest, we have been home for a couple of days and I am JUST starting to feel back to normal.

I do wish I would have moved more and perhaps not have eaten so many fries lol, but man, did it feel really good to put everything behind me and enjoy the sun, the sand between my toes (even though I am not usually a sand lover) and sound of the ocean first thing in the morning and last thing at night.

We are off for another week and taking it easy at home. I am back at the gym and my usual routine and today I prepped some meals. It’s going to be really hard for us all to get back to work on Monday but I am hoping that these 2 weeks off have brought some new life in our work, our hobbies, our families and with ourselves.

I’m back at the Squat Rack ~

Carm